Bottom Article Ad

Super Cup India winners list: All teams who have won the Super Cup

Indian Super Cup winners list

The Indian Super Cup (also known as the Kalinga Super Cup, previously known as Hero Super Cup due to sponsorship reason) is India's premier Cup tournament having replaced the historic Federation Cup in the year 2018.

The Super Cup India has been held a total of 3 times in the history of Indian football since its inception in the year 2018. The Cup tournament is competed among the clubs from the Indian top-tier Indian Super League (ISL) and the 2nd tier league, the I-League. Today in this article, we take a look at the list of Super Cup India winners.

2018 Super Cup

The Indian Super Cup was first established in the year 2018 to replace the then premier Cup tournament Federation Cup. It was Bengaluru FC who won the inaugural edition of the tournament, beating I-League's East Bengal FC in a proper knock-out tournament. Bengaluru FC beat East Bengal 4-1 at the Kalinga Stadium in Odisha. Bengaluru's captain Sunil Chhetri was the top scorer of the tournament with 6 goals.

2019 Super Cup

The 2nd edition of the Super Cup saw a bit of a change. However, the notable highlight of the second edition was seven I-League teams pulling out of the competition citing "unfair treatment" by the All India Football Federation (AIFF). Matches involving those teams was termed as walkover for their opposition team. In the end, it was FC Goa who won the tournament beating Chennaiyin FC in the final by 2-1 with Coro finishing as the top scorer with 5 goals.

The Cup football action was halted in India between the year 2020-2022 due to the COVID pandemic.

2023 Super Cup

The Super Cup returned to action in the year 2023 in Kerala. A total of 16 teams took part in the Super Cup 2023 in a group stage format in Kerala. This was also the first time that there was a AFC continental slot was up for grab in the tournament. Odisha FC was eventually crowned the champions beating the inaugural edition winners Bengaluru FC 2-1. As a result, Odisha FC got a slot in the AFC Cup 2023-2024. Meanwhile, it was NorthEast United FC's Wilmar Jordan Gill who finished as the top scorer with 8 goals in the tournament.

Super Cup Winners List

2018: Bengaluru FC 4-1 East Bengal FC
2019: FC Goa 2-1 Chennaiyin FC
2023: Odisha FC 2-1 Bengaluru FC

Post a Comment