Bottom Article Ad

Durand Cup 2023 Final Result, List of Award Winners and Prize Money

Durand Cup 2023 Final List of Award Winners and Prize Money

Mohun Bagan Super Giant pulled off a brilliant win in the final of the Durand Cup 2023 against their arch-rival Emami East Bengal FC despite going down to 10 men.

Durand Cup 2023 Final Result, List of Award Winners and Prize Money

Mohun Bagan star forward from last season, Dimitri Petratos scored the winning goal for the Green and Maroon team 10 minutes after Mohun Bagan Super Giant's Anirudh Thapa was send off for his 2nd yellow card in the match.

The first half was a brilliant football from both the sides, but none created a clear cut chance though in the first half. But it was East Bengal who looked the better side in the first half.

East Bengal got more into the Mohun Bagan attacking third, but they failed to produce a chance could be converted. The first half ended with a bit of chaos as the referee showed four yellow cards, two each for both the teams. Saul Crespo pulled Armando Sadiku's short and Hugo Boumous got in the there and took a pat on the back of Crespo's head.

Both Crespo and Boumous were shown yellow card for the foul and Boumous behaviour. Borja Herrera also got a card there for dissent. Meanwhile, Anirudh Thapa got a yellow a couple of seconds later after a challenge on Javi Siverio. And that's how the first half ended.

The 2nd half was more about East Bengal FC who looked really well. That momentum forced Mohun Bagan's Anirudh Thapa to make a harsh challenge on East Bengal's Javi Siverio, for which he received his 2nd yellow card and was given the matching orders.

But 10 minutes later, Mohun Bagan's Dimitri Petratos initiated a beautiful counter-attack off a East Bengal corner and eventually no one even tried to snatch the ball from Petratos who then took a brilliant left-footed shot from outside the box that East Bengal goalkeeper Prabhsukhan Gill had no chance to save it.

After that, Mohun Bagan Super Giant players pulled off a brilliant defensive display while East Bengal were not showing the quality going forward, meant that despite being 10 man on the field, Mohun Bagan scored the winner and then hold on the score as well.

Now talking about the presentation ceremony, let's take a look at the List of Award Winners and Prize Money for the Durand Cup 2023.

Durand Cup 2023 Golden Glove

The Golden Glove award went to Mohun Bagan Super Giant's goalkeeper Vishal Kaith, who had 2 clean sheets in the tournament and also pulled off brilliant saves. He made sure that East Bengal don't score a goal in the final after having conceded against them in the group stage. Kaith received a Golden Glove Trophy and also received cash cheque of 3 Lakh INR.

Durand Cup 2023 Golden Boot

With 6 goals to his name in the tournament, Mohammedan Sporting Club's young striker David Lalhlansanga won the Golden Boot award. The 21-years-old striker also received a cash prize of 3 Lakh INR.

Durand Cup 2023 Golden Ball

Despite not able to win the Trophy for the club, East Bengal FC's Nandha Kumar Sekar won the Golden Ball award. Nandha scored the winning goal against Mohun Bagan Super Giant in the group stage and also scored the equalizer against NorthEast United FC in the semi-final. Nandha also received a cash cheque of 4 Lakh INR.

Durand Cup 2023 Runners-up

East Bengal had a tremendous campaign under the guidance of Carles Cuadrat. After another disappointing season in the ISL last time out, East Bengal topped their group, then beat Gokulam Kerala in the quarter-final and NorthEast United in the semi-final, but in the end, they came out 2nd best and received 30 Lakh INR as prize.

Durand Cup 2023 Champions

Mohun Bagan Super Giant qualified for the next round of the Durand Cup 2023 as one of the best 2nd placed team. The club finished 2nd behind East Bengal in their group, but then beat Mumbai City FC and FC Goa in the quarter-final and semi-final respectively. For being crowned champions, Mohun Bagan, alongwith all the Trophies, they received a cash prize of 60 Lakh INR.

Post a Comment