Bottom Article Ad

All you need to know about Calcutta Football League 2021

All you need to know about Calcutta Football League 2021
All you need to know about Calcutta Football League 2021

The people of Kolkata are excited again as West Bengal's football's governing body Indian Football Association (IFA) has announced that the Calcutta Football League (the states premier football league) will be back this year after a year of hiatus.

The Calcutta Football League will be back in August 2021 after a hiatus in 2020 when the league wasn't held due to the worldwide COVID-19 pandemic. The last edition was played in 2019 when Peerless Sporting Club won the league.

But now when the COVID-19 condition is improving in India, the Indian Football Association held a meeting on the 1st of July with all the teams from the Premier Division A, the top division, to discuss the possibilities of holding the tournament. Everyone agreed that the Calcutta Football League needs to be played this year.

And thus after that, the Indian Football Association started planning the entire tournament. The plan is to hold the tournament on a shorter format due to the uncertain period around the world.

And on 12th July, after a meeting again with the representatives of all of the clubs, the Indian Football Association hold a draw to divide the teams in two groups.

Here's all you need to know about Calcutta Football League 2021

The Calcutta Football League is the premier football league in West Bengal. The league is held every year around August to September month. The league was for the first time in 2020 was not played given the COVID-19 as a reason.

When was Calcutta Football League last played and who won it ?

The league was last played in 2019 when the Peerless Sporting Club won the league and not the big 3 of Kolkata football, who use to dominate this regional league.

Calcutta Football League 2021 Teams

A total of 14 teams will participate the 2021 season of the Calcutta Football League. The team that has won the league the most times (39 times), SC East Bengal are unlikely to participate as there is a major tussle going on between the club and its investor, however, if everything gets solved between both the parties, they will play the CFL 2021, and if not, then IFA will field an IFA XI team in place of them.

Mohun Bagan who have won the league 30 times have confirmed their participation and they will play as ATK Mohun Bagan. The 3rd Kolkata giant Mohammedan Sporting Club will also participate, the full list of teams as follows: SC East Bengal/IFA XI, ATK Mohun Bagan, Mohammedan Sporting Club, Peerless, BSS, Calcutta Customs, Bhawanipore, Eastern Railway, George Telegraph, Kidderpore, Tollygunge Agragami, Southern Samity, Techno Aryan and United Sports Club.

Calcutta Football League 2021 Format

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the tournament will be held as a league-cum-knockout tournament. 14 teams will be divided in 2 groups of 7. Teams from both groups will play once against their respective group's team. And at the end of group stage, the top 3 teams from both groups will directly qualify for the quarter-final while the remaining 4 teams from both groups will play against each other in a knockout format and 2 teams will join the 6 teams in quarter-finals. Then the knockout rules will be followed with at the end 2 teams playing in the final.

Calcutta Football League 2021 Groups

Group A: BSS, Bhawanipore, SC East Bengal/IFA XI, Mohammedan Sporting, Eastern Railway, Southern Samity, United Sports Club

Group B: ATK Mohun Bagan, Peerless, George Telegraph, Calcutta Customs, Techno Aryan, Kidderpore, Tollygunge Agragami

When will Calcutta Football League 2021 be played ?

The Calcutta Football League 2021 will be held in August third week as confirmed by the IFA and will continue till October. The Calcutta Football League 2021-2022 season will kick-off from August 17th with defending champion Peerless SC taking on Kidderpore SC from 2:45 PM IST.

Where will Calcutta Football League 2021 be played ?

Calcutta Football League will be played in various stadiums in Kolkata. The likely venues are, Salt Lake Stadium, Kishore Bharti Stadium, Kalyani Municipal Stadium, Mohun Bagan Ground, East Bengal Ground.

Where to watch Calcutta Football League 2021 ?

The Indian Football Association confirmed through their social media that the Calcutta Football League will be live broadcasted by R Plus News and can be streamed live through Jio TV app.

Calcutta Football League 2021 FAQ

Will SC East Bengal play Calcutta Football League ?

SC East Bengal are as of 14th July unlikely to participate in the competition given the tussle going on between club officials and investor group. The club have been given a deadline by the IFA.

Will ATK Mohun Bagan play Calcutta Football League ?

Yes, ATK Mohun Bagan will play the Calcutta Football League 2021.

Post a Comment