Bottom Article Ad

FC Pune City Last Season Players and Where are they now?

FC Pune City Last Season players where are they now

Since its inception in the year 2014, the Indian Super League (ISL) has brought in a new revolution in Indian football. The ISL helped develop some good players for the national team. It also brought new professional teams into the Indian football, and one of those team is FC Pune City.

FC Pune City, owned by Bollywood superstar Rithik Roshan and the Rajesh Wadhawan Group, was one of the founding member of the Indian Super League. The club was officially found 2014 and had Italian Serie A's ACF Fiorentina as technical partner. Unfortunately, the club was officially dissolved in 2019 due to financial and technical issues.

Throughout its existence, the club recorded 4th place as its highest finish in the league phase and was knocked-out of the semi-finals in the 2017-2018 season. The club had the services of the popular foreign players like Kostas Katsouranis, Apoula Edel, David Trezeguet, Mohamed Sissoko, Kalu Uche, Iain Hume, Marko Stanković and many more.

The club played its final season during the Indian Super League 2018-2019 season and was officially replaced by Hyderabad FC in the league. Today in this article, we will take a look at the FC Pune City players who played for the club in its last season and where they are now.

The likes of Matt Mills, Martín Díaz, Lalchhuanmawia, Jonathan Vila, Marko Stankovic, Marcelinho, Diego, Emiliano Alfaro and Iain Hume, who were part of the 2018-2019 season, have all retired from the game. Alwyn George and Gabriel Fernandes are currently without a contract while Ashutosh Mehta is currently serving a doping ban.

Goalkeepers Kamaljit Singh and Vishal Kaith plays for two Kolkata club and arch-rivals East Bengal and Mohun Bagan Super Giant respectively. Third choice keeper Anuj Kumar recently joined Odisha FC from Hyderabad FC. Experienced defender Gurtej Singh is the current captain of the Delhi FC in the I-League. Nim Dorjee Tamang recently transferred to FC Goa from Hyderabad FC. After he recently joined FC Goa, Mohammed Yasir joined Nim Dorjee Tamang with the Goa based club.

Left-back Sahil Panwar is with Odisha FC while right-back Sarthak Golui is with Chennaiyin FC. The trio of Nikhil Poojary, Rohit Kumar and Shankar Sampingiraj are currently contracted with Bengaluru FC. Experienced defender Adil Khan is with Sporting Club de Goa playing in I-League 2, the third division of Indian football.

Other than Vishal Kaith, Ashique Kuruniyan is another former FC Pune City player who plays for Mohun Bagan Super Giant. Veteran Indian striker Robin Singh last played for the Sporting Club Bengaluru.

Post a Comment