Bottom Article Ad

Indian football team probable squad for Merdeka Cup 2023 announced by head coach Igor Stimac

Indian football team squad for Merdeka Cup 2023

The Indian national football team head coach Igor Stimac has today officially announced the a list of 26 probables of the upcoming Merdeka Cup 2023 to be played in Malaysia during the October FIFA International window.

After the Indian football team's disappointing results in the King's Cup 2023 that saw the Indian football team FIFA Ranking once went over 100, the Blue Tigers are back again, this time in the upcoming Merdeka Cup 2023 to be played in Malaysia.

Before the tournament begins, the head coach of the Indian football team Igor Stimac has today officially named a 26 member squad for the camp before the tournament. After that, a final 23 members squad will be announced which will travel to Malaysia for the tournament.

Indian football team captain Sunil Chhetri is back for the team after missing out on the King's Cup 2023 because of birth of his child and then preparation for the Asian Games. But, now the Indian captain is back to lead the line again. Manvir Singh is the other striker who has been picked while Rahim Ali has been dropped for now.

Gurpreet Singh Sandhu will be the team's main goalkeeper alongwith Amrinder Singh, youngster Dheeraj Singh while Mohun Bagan Super Giant's Vishal Kaith has been called-up too.

Sandesh Jhingan will command the defence line with Anwar Ali. Bengaluru FC's Naorem Roshan Singh is also back in the squad while Lalchungnunga has kept his position in the team. Meanwhile, Vikram Pratap Singh has been called-up too amongst the wingers likes of Lallianzuala Chhangte, Udanta Singh, Liston Colaco, Naorem Mahesh Singh and Nandha Kumar Sekar.

Anirudh Thapa, Sahal Abdul Samad and Jeakson Singh are most likely to form the midfield trio for India with Brandon Fernandes, Suresh Singh, Rohit Kumar as options.

Indian football team players selected for Merdeka Cup 2023 camp

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Vishal Kaith, Dheeraj Singh.

Defenders: Sandesh Jhingan, Nikhil Poojari, Roshan Singh, Anwar Ali, Mehtab Singh, Lalchungnunga, Akash Mishra, Subhashish Bose.

Midfielders: Jeakson Singh, Suresh Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Rohit Kumar, Sahal Abdul Samad, Brandon Fernandes, Lalianzuala Chhangte, Udanta Singh, Vikram Pratap Singh, Mahesh Singh Naorem, Liston Colaco and Nandhakumar Sekar.

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri and Manvir Singh.

Post a Comment