Bottom Article Ad

Santosh Trophy Final Result, Award Winners and Prize Money 2022-2023

Santosh Trophy Final Result, Award Winners and Prize Money

The 76th edition of the Santosh Trophy was wrapped yesterday on the 4th March. The Santosh Trophy final result came out in favour of the Karnataka State Football Association team. Today in this article, we take a little look at the Santosh Trophy 2023 Award winners and prize money.

The Hero Santosh Trophy 2023 was a actioned packed football tournament organised by the football body of the Indian football, the All India Football Federation (AIFF). It is competed by the state organisations that are affiliated with the AIFF, including Services, the armed forces team and Railway.

The Santosh Trophy 2022-2023 season began in December with the Zonal Group Stages. The final round was played in January and February and the knockout round was played March in Saudi Arabia's King Fahd Stadium.

The four teams that reached the semi-finals of the Santosh Trophy are, Karnataka, Meghalaya, Services and Punjab. Meghalaya beat Punjab 2-1 in the semi-final 1 while Karnataka beat Services 1-3 in the 2nd Semi-Final.

The 3rd place match was played between the two Semi-Final losing teams, Services and Punjab with the former coming out victorious by 2-0 scoreline.

Santosh Trophy final result, award winners and prize money

The Santosh Trophy final match between Karnataka and Meghalaya was a competitive match. It was Karnataka who opened the scoring in the 2nd minute of the match with Sunil Kumar converting a brilliant volley. However, Meghalaya came back with a instant reply as Sheen Stevenson was brought down in Karnataka's box, giving away a penalty which was converted by Brolington Warlarpih.

In the 19th minute of the Bekey Oram tapped in a pass from the 1st goal scorer Sunil Kumar to give Karnataka the lead again. And just before the 1st half ended, Karnataka's Robin Yadav scored a brilliant free-kick from 25-yards out to make it 3-1 for Karnataka. Meghalaya did find one goal back at 60th minute thanks to Sheen Stevenson. However, Meghalaya did run out of time and Karnataka managed to clinch their 5th ever Santosh Trophy championship. 

Now let's have a look at all the Santosh Trophy award winners. Note that there was not much individual awards that was presented in Santosh Trophy 2023.

Santosh Trophy 2022-2023 Top Goal-scorer

Two player ended the Santosh Trophy 2022-2023 season as the top goal scorer of the tournament, they are Bengal football team captain Naro Hari Shrestha and Kerala football team's Nijo Gilbert.

Santosh Trophy 2022-2023 Best Goalkeeper

The best Goalkeeper of the Santosh Trophy 2022-2023 championship went to runners-up team Meghalaya's Goalkeeper Rajat Paul Lyngdoh, who kept a total of 6 clean sheets throughout the competition and was awarded 10,000 INR.

Santosh Trophy 2022-2023 Player of the Tournament

The best player of the tournament for Santosh Trophy 2022-2023 season went to winning team Karnataka's Robin Yadav. He was in stunning form throughout the campaign and scored 6 goals and contributed with number of assists as well. He also received 10,000 INR.


They fought hard throughout the campaign, proved their mettle beating the likes of Bengal and Punjab and reached the final of the competition. However, it didn't ended in a happy ending for Meghalaya and came-out 2nd best in the competition. As a reward for their performance, the team's players received silver medal and the team received a cash prize of 3 crore INR.


Karnataka returned to glory once again in the Santosh Trophy after more than 50 years and bagged their 5th Santosh Trophy. The team played beautiful football throughout the campaign and are certainly a deserved champion. The team players Gold medal and the team also received a cash prize of 5 crore INR.

Post a Comment