Bottom Article Ad

I-League 2022-2023: List of Award Winners and Prize Money

I-League 2022-2023: List of Award Winners and Prize Money

The doors to the Indian Super League (ISL) has officially opened for I-League champions this season and each and every Hero I-League club prepared a strong team wanting to become the first team from the I-League to officially get promoted to the ISL 2023-2024 season by merit, but it is Roundglass Punjab FC who came out in front.

The Hero Indian Super League (ISL) is the first tier of Indian football while the I-League is the 2nd tier of Indian football. The Indian Super League had remained a closed league since its inception back in the year 2014 till this season. 

According to a roadmap was discussed infront of many officials from the All India Football Federation (AIFF), all the ISL and I-League clubs and AFC and it was decided that the promotion from I-League to ISL will begin from the 2023-2024 where the I-League 2022-2023 winner would get promoted.

Each and every team this year built a strong team with the hope of making it to the top-tier. For the majority of the league, it was actually Sreenidi Deccan FC who lead the points table with close competition from Real Kashmir. The eventual champions leave it till the last to take the lead and then also go on to win the league.

It was 4th March that Roundglass Punjab FC beat Rajasthan United FC by 4-0 deficit to win the league with 1 match still remaining, which they played today against Tiddim Road Athletic Union (TRAU FC) and won the match by 2-0 with Luka Majcen who scored both the Goals for his team.

I-League 2022-2023: List of Award Winners and Prize Money

Now that we have come to the end of the season, now it's time check on who are the players who won some individual awards. Today in this article today, we take a look at the list of award winners and prize money in the I-League 2022-2023 season.

I-League 2022-2023 Golden Glove Winner

The Golden Glove is the award that is presented to the best goalkeeper in the I-League 2022-2023 season. This season, the award was given to Roundglass Punjab FC's goalkeeper Kiran Chemjong. The Nepali goalkeeper was one of the best goalkeeper in the league and a huge reason behind the team's success. He kept 11 clean sheets in 21 matches and conceded only 16 goals. Chemjong also received a 2 Lakh 50 Thousand INR check with the Trophy.

Midfielder of the Season

The Midfielder of the Season award for this season's I-League was awarded to the best midfielder in the league. The award also went to Roundglass Punjab FC player Juna Mera. The Spanish was brilliant throughout the season as he contributed with 10 goals and 2 assists for his team. The player received a cash check of 2 Lakh 50 Thousand Indian Rupees (INR).

I-League 2022-2023 Golden Boot Winner

The Golden Boot award is the award that was awarded to the highest goal scorer in the I-League this season. With 16 goals to his name, Roundglass Punjab FC's prolific striker Luka Majcen is a huge reason why his team won the league and won promotion to the Indian Super League. Majcen also received a cash prize of 2 Lakh and 50 Thousand INR along with the Trophy.

Hero of the League

The Hero of the League award is awarded to best player of the Hero I-League 2022-2023 season. The league saw some extraordinary players and performance this season, however, it is once again Roundglass Punjab FC's Luka Majcen who won the Hero of the League or the Golden Ball. He scored 16 goals and also contributed with 3 assists for his team. He also won a cash check of INR 5 Lakh along with the Trophy.


While the champions Roundglass Punjab FC bagged some huge awards in the award ceremony, the runners-up award went to 2nd placed team in the Hero I-League points table Sreenidi Deccan FC. It was once looking likely that they will be team that will dominate the league and win promotion, however, in the end it is Punjab FC. As for being runners-up, Sreenidi Deccan FC received a cash prize of 60 Lakh INR.

I-League 2022-2023 Champions

And now come to the champions Roundglass Punjab FC, who dominated the entire prize giving ceremony. The team truly deserves to be the champion and the rightful champion and team to get promoted to the Indian Super League. So, not only did Roundglass Punjab FC won the I-League Trophy, they also won the promotion to the Indian top-tier and will play in the Hero ISL next season. Other than that, they also received a cash sum of 1 Crore INR for being crowned the Hero I-League 2022-2023 Champions.

Post a Comment